Grant Shapps Brazil Portugal Panama Cape Verde country vaccine travelers Grant Shapps Brazil Portugal Panama Cape Verde

'Urgent decision' made to ban arrivals from 16 countries amid fears over Brazilian coronavirus strain

Sign up for the latest from M.E.N. political editor Jennifer WilliamsThe government has made an 'urgent decision' to ban arrivals from sixteen countries over concerns about a new Brazilian strain of coronavirus.South America, Panama, Portugal and Cape Verde will be subject to a travel ban from 4am on Friday, transport secretary Grant Shapps announced.He said travel from Portugal was being suspended because of its “strong travel links with Brazil”, but there will be an exemption for hauliers.

The website is an aggregator of news from open sources. The source is indicated at the beginning and at the end of the announcement. You can send a complaint on the news if you find it unreliable.

Related News