Dave Gahan: Last News

Jimmy Fallon - Bob Dylan - Rick Rubin - Neil Young - Elvis Presley - Johnny Cash - Dave Gahan - Watch Dave Gahan & Soulsavers cover PJ Harvey on ‘Fallon’ - nme.com - USA - California - city Malibu, state California
Watch Dave Gahan & Soulsavers cover PJ Harvey on ‘Fallon’
Dave Gahan & Soulsavers stopped by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon this weekend to promote the release of their latest LP.The Depeche Mode frontman and longtime collaborator Rich Machin released their new covers album ‘Imposter’ back in November under the guise of Soulsavers. Together they deliver unique takes on songs by the likes of Neil Young, Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan and many more.Gahan recently told NME that the 12 selected tracks feel like they carry “a sense of wisdom and longevity that is just there in the song and very apparent in the voice”.On Friday (March 18), Gahan and Machin dropped by Jimmy Fallon’s late night chat show to deliver a live rendition of their PJ Harvey cover, ‘The Desperate Kingdom Of Love’, originally featured on Harvey’s 2004 album ‘Uh Huh Her’.You can watch the cover below:‘Imposter’ was recorded and produced by Gahan and Machin in November 2019 at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La studios in Malibu, California.According to Gahan, the setting inspired a “magical” sense of freedom for the assembled band and also allowed them to work in the same spirit as the legendary Rubin-produced Johnny Cash covers record ‘American IV: The Man Comes Around’.“Johnny Cash’s album was one where I wasn’t listening to the originals at all,” Gahan told NME. “His version of [Nine Inch Nails’] ‘Hurt’, for instance, just blew me away and it still does.
Dave Gahan - JennyLee announces second solo album ‘Heart Tax’ - nme.com - California - city Salt Lake City
JennyLee announces second solo album ‘Heart Tax’
JennyLee has shared details of her second solo album, ‘Heart Tax’, made in partnership with Record Store Day 2022.The musician, who is also the bassist/backing vocalist in Warpaint, will release her new album on April 23 (pre-order here).‘Heart Tax’ comprises the six singles JennyLee has released over the the last two years and is completed by six new songs for Record Store Day (April 23). See here for a full list of releases for the annual event.The follow-up to 2015’s ‘Right On!‘ features collaborations with Goldensuns, Warpaint, Belief and Warpaint’s Stella Mozgawa, Depeche Mode‘s Dave Gahan and Trentemøller.‘Heart Tax’ track list:01. ‘Stop Speaking’02. ‘Tickles’03. ‘Newtopia’04. ‘Heart Tax’05. ‘Clinique’06. ‘In Awe Of’07. ‘Hallows Eve’08. ‘Tickles II’09. ‘Love You’10. ‘I’m So Tired’Songs already released from the album include the Gahan-featuring ‘Stop Speaking‘, the Trentemøller-produced single ‘Tickles’ and B-side ‘Heart Tax’, and ‘Newtopia‘.A description of the record’s germination reads: “A substantial portion of the album was assembled during the last few years of uncertainty, starting in the bliss of southern California, and finished in the quiet of Salt Lake City.“This disconcerting time allowed JennyLee to ‘access the depths’ of her creativity in ways she had never been able to before.